2015 Award Winners

(A) Academic Category

A1 The CILT Award for the best undergraduate level project on a logistics and transport topic
No Winner

A2 The CILT Award for overall outstanding achievement in a Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport program qualification completed in the previous academic year in New Zealand, or elsewhere if the nominee is a student taught or supervised by New Zealand registered members of CILT.

Sponsor: Robin Dunlop - D R D Consulting

Winner: Stacy Tuxford

Stacey Tuxford receives her award from Dr Robin Dunlop

A3 The Award for the Logistics Training Group’s Top Graduate in the CILT UK Professional Diploma in Logistics and Transport.

Sponsor: Logistics Training Group

Winner: Fiona Hyson

Fiona receives her award from Walter Glass LTG

A4 The CILT Award for overall outstanding achievement in a program or project with a focus on Transport and Logistics taught in New Zealand leading to an accredited Postgraduate qualification.

Sponsor: Dexion New Zealand

Winner: Virginia (Ginny) Christians

Ginny receives her award from Jeff Darby of Dexion NZ

A5 The Ministry of Transport Award for outstanding achievement at Masters Level, in a dissertation or thesis with a focus on transport planning and policy, or transport and the economy, or supply chains and logistics or transport and environmental issues or some combination of these broad areas.

Sponsor: The Ministry of Transport

Winner : Jeanette Ward

Jeanette Ward received her award from Martin Matthews from Ministry of Transport

(B) Communication and Industry Section

B1 The CILT Award for the Most Meritorious Published article in a New Zealand publication.

Sponsor: CILT NZ

Winner: David Killick

David receives his award from CILT President Glen-Marie Burns

B2 The CILT Award for the Most Meritorious Presentation.

Sponsor: Chris Kissling - Kissling Consulting Ltd

Winner: Zaad Lathiff

Zaad Lathiff receives his award from Prof. Chris Kissling

B3 The CILT Award for Implementation and Practice.

Sponsor: Cubic Transport

Winner: Foodstuffs South Island Limited

John Mullins receives the award for Foodstuffs SI from Dave Anderson (Cubic)

B4 The CILT Award for Public Transport Innovation.

Sponsor: CILT NZ

Winner: KiwiRail

John Skilton and Nick French of KiwiRail and CILT President Glen-Marie Burns

B5 The CILT Award for Supply Chain Innovation.

Sponsor: Dexion

Winner: Foodstuffs South Island Limited

Kris Lancaster received the award on behalf of Foodstuffs South Island from Jeff Darby of Dexion NZ

B6 The CILT Award for Safety, Security and Environmental Innovation

Sponsor: CILT NZ

Winner: C3 Limited

Chris Sutherland of C3 Ltd receives their award from CILT President Glen-Marie Burns

2015 Mentoring Scholarships Presented

Sponsors: Ports of Auckland Ltd and Tranzliquid Ltd

Winners: Hamish Quinn and Shane Shang

Hanmish Quinn, Jean-Paul Thull and Shane Shang

Mentoring Info.

CILT Life Memberships Presented

Professor Christopher Kissling

Terence Portis

Bruce Cochrane

Julian Lillico

Robert Stott QSM

Bruce Cochrane (L) CILT President Glen-Marie Burns and Chris Kissling

Leaders for the Future Certificates Presented by Jo Brosnahan


Jackie Carroll, Ellise Connelly, Murray Holt, Peter MacLean

Richard Moorcroft, Tom Wain, Mark Babbington, Richard Cross

The LFTF Group including Jo Brosnahan and Vicky Pond-Dunlop


(C) Excellence Category Awards

C1 Young Achiever of the Year

The purpose of the Award is to provide incentive for and recognition of individuals who are actively involved in the day-to-day operation and development of transport and/or logistics in New Zealand.

The Young Achievers Award is open to anyone who will be under the age of 35 years as at 1st January following the year of nomination.

The employer or an appropriate professional association must sponsor the nominee for the Award. A letter of endorsement outlining the reasons for sponsoring the nominee must be included with the submission.

Sponsor: CILT NZ

Winner: Simon Olsen

Simon receives his award from CILT President Glen-Marie Burns

C2 The Norman Spencer Memorial Medal for Contribution to Transport and the Institute

This Award is a memorial to Norman Spencer, the first Chairman of the New Zealand Division of The Chartered Institute of Transport, 1959 - 1962.

Presenter of the Norman Spencer Memorial Medal: Hon Simon Bridges, Minister for Transport

This Award will only be made to recognize a person of the highest calibre from within the transport and logistics sectors. The person is to have made an outstanding contribution over time to the sector as well as contributing in a meaningful way to the activities of the Institute.

Sponsor: CILT NZ

Winner: David Corlett

Hon.Simon Bridges (R) presented David Corlett with the Norman Spencer Medal

Full Citations:-

Page Attachments